A most indiscrete pumpkin

Followers of this blog will know that I have become a fanatical vegetable gardener this year, much to the dismay of my family.

The displeasure on their part is because I will not stick to growing things they actually like. No, I plant all kinds of “vile” items, such as turnips, courgettes, beans and kohlrabi.  However, there is one vegetable which even I knew I’d have to hide if I were to plant it. The pumpkin is the most despised of all vegetables in our house. Nobody likes it… except me. So early in the spring I secretly got up a dawn and snuck a couple of seeds into the soil right at the back of the vegetable patch. Carefully hidden behind cabbages and califlowers, beans and peas.

The pumpkin plants clearly had other ideas though. Oh they came up discretely enough at first… but all of a sudden, after a week of heavy rain, they took off across the garden and the next thing I knew they’d even reached the path. Not only were they trying to trip  everyone up with their leaves and tendrils… they actually decided that the path was the place to deposit their pumpkin fruits.

Of course I’ve been rumbled. How could all my family not notice these bright orange items the size of footballs? I tried the “Oh, it’s just a big tomato!” line…  but it fooled nobody.

Tomorrow I’m planning to make pumpkin soup. This will be noticed by the hawks. They all know that there are pumpkins on the premises… and as soon as they spot the absence of the pumpkins on the path, they’ll all be making playdates and other Termine just to avoid eating at home until they know the soup is finished or thrown away.

But they haven’t reckoned with my cunning. You see… I have a freezerMuhahahaha!

2 Comments

Filed under About Germany, food, Life in Germany

2 responses to “A most indiscrete pumpkin

  1. Neil

    You’re obviously not putting enough cheese in the pumpkin dishes, with enough cheese you don’t notice the pumpkin.

  2. Julie Larson

    In the US Pumpkin deserves thinking sweet/dessert spices. It can still be a vegetable if you like but it needs the likes of cinnamon and other spices you would use in cookies,(ginger, cloves, nutmeg, etc.) Still tastes good with salt and pepper and butter with the sweet spices if you desire. Of course you have to add a sweetener like honey or maple syrup, etc.) Cinnamon does add a bit of sweetness on its own.

Leave a comment