Cats, curry and interior decor

One of the questions I get asked a lot since I wrote Planet Germany is whether the incidents described in the book actually happened. I mean, surely not. Nobody’s household is that chaotic.

Like the time I tried to have a party and made hot curry for an entire legion of Germans. You know, the people whose food is so bland that even a blob of mustard is considered to be scarily “scharf“.

Of course they didn’t eat it. It wasn’t an out-and-out rude refusal. They nibbled at the rice and the plain Naan bread. But the curry… no. The whole lot was left untouched by teutonic fork.
My cats, on the other hand, are made of sterner stuff. No sooner had the Germans left and everyone else had gone to bed, then the felines made a beeline for the chicken madras and the prawn vindaloo.

Things I learned that night and next morning:

  • a wallpaper table can hold seven full pans of curry, no problem
  • a wallpaper table cannot hold seven pans of curry and two cats without its legs buckling
  • a pan of curry trebles in volume when hurled to the ground by a yowling moggie
  • prawn vindaloo does very bad things to the feline digestive system
  • and subsequently to the living room floor and the wallpaper
  • did I mention the kitchen….

Aftermath of the curry

5 Comments

Filed under books, cats, Life in Germany

5 responses to “Cats, curry and interior decor

  1. Too true on Germans and “hot” spices!

  2. Ha ha! I believed you even before you produced the photographic evidence. Looks a lot like my house on a normal day.

    I’ve found that German sometimes won’t even eat the bland, unassuming food that I’ve brought to various gathering because it’s just a little bit different from what they’re used to, and Germans definitely don’t like different. Do you know the phrase “Was der Bauer nicht kennt, frisst er nicht?” Sometimes, but only sometimes, after a few pokes and sniffs a brave soul or two would actually try something I’d made, proclaiming it to be “Lecker!” and I’d end up having to print out 65 recipes to hand around at the next library meeting or whatever. The fun never stops.

  3. It sounded bad in the book, but somehow I didn’t even go as far as that. Hot damn. Literally.

  4. ladyrebecca

    Wow, I am going to have to seriously readdress the way I cook when bringing things to a “potluck” type meal. I love spices and the spicier the better. Should be interesting, no?

  5. Ami in Hessen

    I’ve made Stuffed Jalapenos several times for my spring-fall BBQs. These are basically Jalapeno Peppers, completely gutted out, and filled with Philadelphia Cheese and crumbled bacon. I punch some holes in the bottom (with toothpicks) so the hot juice will leak out during the baking process.

    The Germans won’t touch them. They see the Jalapeno and they get that deer in the headlights look. Heads start shaking “no no no” and they back away as if I was offering Stuffed Rodent Skulls.

    Ok, I’ve been known to have some spicey foods around during the BBQs. Chili, of course. And maybe some salsa dips. But even after explaining that it tastes just like a “normal” (bell) pepper with a tiny kick, they still refuse.

Leave a Reply

