Everything you wanted to know about German toilets but were too scared to ask

Probably the most common preoccupation of ex-pats the world over is toilets. And where but Germany has such weird ones?

I recently discovered that there’s a fellow ex-pat who has produced a series of clips on YouTube solely devoted to toilets in the countries he has visited. Obviously Germany has been a major destination on his travels – and rather than visiting the Brandenburg gate or the Hofbrauhaus, he has wisely spent most of his time in the smallest room, marvelling at the cultural differences.

I’ll let him introduced the “inspection shelf model” in his own words…

Following the initial episode, our intrepid hero did however find something to his liking about German bathrooms… in fact I think he may actually extend his stay indefinitely….

5 Comments

Filed under comedy, Life in Germany

5 responses to “Everything you wanted to know about German toilets but were too scared to ask

  1. hehehe… is this ‘toilet humour’?

    I’m disappointed, however, that he didn’t choose to also highlight the ‘instructional sign’ hanging behind the Klo … I’ve never seen this outside of Germany and it never fails to crack me up!

  2. Finally, some has posted about the *real* issue on the mind of all expats living in Germany!

    Thanks for having such a great sense of humor.

  3. King Cogidubnus

    Love it! Though in my experience, your average German eco-warrior prefers toilet paper that is grey and still has wood splinters in it.

  4. I’d forgotten about the inspection shelf. Not a fan.

  5. Huh… Having only been in Germany when I was 8, I thought it was a European thing. Although, now that I think about it, I can’t remember toilets like that in Italy… or Belgium… or Spain… and I’m not sure about Denmark, I was really young then…

    Although, I’ve got to say, I’m not sure which toilet I hate more: German or American. Three weeks of getting my hand wet every time I tried to wipe my bum… I was almost wishing for a drop-pit dunny… no water…

Leave a Reply

