A worrying breakfast

I’m not a morning person. Until I’ve had my third cup of coffee it’s normally best to leave me well alone. I’m surly, my eyes are not yet fully open, and I’m liable to spill something all over you.

But this morning over breakfast, I was suddenly jolted into wakefulness by the sight of this on the table.

OK – you might think this is a normal German carton of milk. But look closer….

There are new developments with this milk. It is designed to keep fresh for longer (always a plus) … and it has an unverfälschter Geschmack – which even in my early morning pre-coffee dozy state, I can just about translate as “flavour not faked”.

Now, call me an old cynic, but is the manufacturer telling me that the new development with my milk is that they’re no longer faking the flavour? What was I drinking in my coffee before? Whitewash? Milk-flavoured chalk?

From now on I’m going to take a much closer look at the labels on all my breakfast foods.

What do you reckon is in this one! Moose balls?

8 Comments

Filed under food, German language, Life in Germany

8 responses to “A worrying breakfast

  1. Have you read Fast Food Nation? I think it was there that I learned how much of our food is “enhanced” by flavourings.

  2. I think you are confusing “verfälscht” mit “gefälscht”. Gefälscht would be faked, unverfälscht means pure, unaltered.
    Unless this was a joke and I didn’t get it even though it’s almost 4pm…

  3. I’m not sure I see a big difference. If the “new” feature is that it is unadulterated, then surely it was adulterated (or impure) before.

  4. Yeah, it still is weird – I just think it is differently weird 🙂

  5. Oh, and as to what the difference is, I think it is quite different in German. To me, faked (vs. real) means they altered the flavor on purpose before, pure (vs. impure) means they improved their “milk making process” so the milk tastes milkier.
    Could all be in my head 🙂

  6. I would just guess that what they originally intended to say was that they did something to keep the milk fresh for longer without affecting the taste.

    “Intended”, mind you.

    The second one would be chocolate balls. Presumably not salty, however. 😉

    (Whyever the marketer think it clever to mix german and pseudo-english words escapes me).

  7. patricksamuel

    It’s probably the same “secret ingredient” they put in Nobby’s Nuts! http://www.sweetstall.com/acatalog/Nobbys-nuts-dry-roast.jpg

    I really dare not think about it though!

  8. michael

    The milk is not fresh, it has been heated to improve shelflife. However it doesnt taste like UHT milk. This is meant by “unverfälschter Geschmack” (unchanged taste). There is a big discussion now whether you may call it fresh.

Leave a Reply

