Hedgehog update

I was out in the garden this morning collecting some vegetables for Sunday lunch and there on my peas was an enormous brown slug.

Now that I have a family of hedgehogs living in my garden, I know exactly what to do with slugs. I wrapped it up in a leaf (they’re too slimy and nasty to hold in your bare hand!) and carried it over to the hedgehog nest. Mum was just on her way out for a forage… but I could see the little ones watching me from under the dried leaves.

They’re getting quite big already and their spines are already turning brown.

One of them even popped out briefly to sniff at the gift I’d brought, before scurrying back to the nest.

I meanwhile went back to my garden to finish picking lunch. Peas, courgettes and kohlrabi today!

2 Comments

Filed under Life in Germany

2 responses to “Hedgehog update

  1. 🙂

    The vegetable garden should be really good. 🙂

  2. Neil

    I had a hedgehog die on me the other week, poor thing had fallen into a building site hole and couldn’t get out, it had no visible injuries, and wandered off, but I found him not far away a day later in a poor state. I should have taken him to a vet, but they are all closed by the time hedgehogs come out.

Leave a Reply

