Düsseldorf traffic….GRRRR

Next time the Düsseldorf city authorities decide to close one of the bridges over the Rhine for resurfacing, they should phone me first and check my schedule.

On Thursday I had a speaking appointment at the Deutsch-Britische Gesellschaft in Düsseldorf at the Goethe Museum. Normally this is a 20 minute drive from where I live – but because all the traffic from the closed bridge had been diverted to the bridge I was trying to use… it took me two and a half hours to get there. I was chronically late and thoroughly embarrassed.

Thank goodness for the very patient and delightful souls who waited for me … and managed to remain in enough of a good humour to laugh at all my jokes!

2 Comments

Filed under About Germany, Life in Germany

2 responses to “Düsseldorf traffic….GRRRR

  1. Thanks for the heads up – I am due to visit Düsseldorf for the first time next week and I shall take heed and make sure I have time to spare between meetings!

  2. Ann-Katrin

    Oh, and people wonder why I sold the car… Thankfully I live where there is plenty of public transportation. Mind you, you can’t quite trust the trains either…

Leave a Reply

