Mushroom season in Germany!

It’s my favourite time of the year again. As the summer draws to a close the shops and the market stalls start to fill up with mushrooms.

Of course proper Germans don’t buy mushrooms. They put on their hiking boots and head off to the fields and woods to pick their own. Good mushrooming locations are passed down like guilty secrets in families, told only to trustworthy members of the next generation, who are sworn to eternal secrecy.

Germans also tend to be fairly well versed in the identification of edible versus non-edible varieties. While unsuspecting Brits would probably wipe out three generations of their family with one home-picked mushroom omelette, Germans usually survive the experience to tell the tale. If in doubt, the local Apotheke (pharmacy) will offer a professional mushroom identification service.

Being an ex-pat Brit, I have to admit that I just buy my mushrooms at the local market, fry them up in butter with a hint of garlic and some fresh herbs and serve with a fresh salad from the garden.

But one day… if I ever become German enough to be initiated into the secrets of the mushroom pickers… I shall join the ranks of the elite.. the teutonic mushroom harvesters.

Baskets at dawn?

12 Comments

Filed under About Germany, food, Life in Germany

12 responses to “Mushroom season in Germany!

  1. I had the splendid good luck to go Mushroom hunting with my dear friends in Bavaria years ago. We walked and walked and walked and the best picking was when we found the prize King Mushroom! After filling our baskets we headed home and our entire meal, with the exception of the fresh bread, was made from the mushrooms!
    The memory will be with me for the rest of my days. Very special for this American girl!

  2. YUMMMM…..this is one of my favorite seasons! I love Pfifferlinge. We just had some with Semmelknoedel tonight, some on pizza yesterday, I had some on pasta before that, and maybe tomorrow will have some mixed with spaetzle!

  3. Mushrooms! I love them. Found a big beautiful specimen in my garden a few days ago and would ahve love to make it dinner, but…. have no idea if it was edible of or not, so, sigh, I just took a picture of it.

    Today there were several more just like them. U fortunately in the US we cannot take them to the local pharmacy to have them checked out, as they do in Italy and France!

  4. Hi from Toronto Canada. I go out mushroom picking every Sunday with my Newfoundland dogs Memphis and Ellie Mae. I pick a number of species of mushrooms, most of which are fairly easy to identify. Some, like the chanterelle and the lobster and the hedgehog are really fantastic. You can see plenty of pictures from our foraging adventures over at my blog…look for the tag: mushrooms.

  5. Neil

    I seem to have plenty in my lawn this year if you want to come and pick some!

  6. G

    Totally cool that the local Apotheke will identify mushrooms for you- my husband, from NRW, had never heard that before (he’s from an atypically non-mushroom hunting family). I wonder if that is true in my corner Apotheke here in Berlin?

  7. The Apotheke? Really? That is way cool!

    Love this season too – and I’m with you… LOTS of butter, and a hint of garlic…

  8. So ridiculously true about proper Germans. I visited my former roommate and her family a year ago and they took me into the Schwarzwald to go mushroom hunting. Or rather, for me to watch them mushroom hunt. As an American, I probably would have ended up dead had I tried to pick anything for consumption.

  9. ijjlian

    Hey! Cool! Thanks for this post…
    I have been livin in Europe for two years now… First Germany, then Italy and now again Germany…
    Now I am crazy about mushrooms and want to start mushroom hunting !! =)
    Exciting!

Leave a Reply

