Little Book of Heroes – prize giveaway

My publisher contacted me the other week with some questions about reaching out to English speaking book lovers in Germany. Of course initially I was suspicious. Exactly what were they trying to flog now?

As it turned out, I shouldn’t have worried. My publisher had sponsored a poetry competition among the children of the British Armed Forces on the subject of heroes. Kids from age 6 to young teens submitted their poems… most of them extremely personal and written about their Dads (and a few Mums) in the army. The profits from sales of the book will be donated to Help for Heroes.

My publisher even kindly sent me a copy of the book.

When I got it I was blown away. First of all… the poems in the book are very very good. And extremely moving. OK – lets face it. If you read it, you’re going to be blubbing into your bedtime cocoa. The poems in this book are poignant in the extreme – and a sharp reminder that when soldiers go to war, their whole family suffers. The burden of pain and fear which these children bear with such stoicism (most of the time) is amazing.

Anyway… I have a pristine copy of this book. Not blubbed-on or tear-splashed or snotted-over. And I’m giving it away to one lucky reader of Planet Germany. To enter the draw, all you need to do is leave a comment on this post. That’s it. Simplicity itself!

Next Sunday I will put all the names in a hat and my daughter’s cat (the one that looks like Hitler – cat, not daughter, I hasten to add…)  will be invited to select a winner.I will then email the winner to get the address to send the book to.

And now the small print: The feline’s decision is final. No correspondence will be entered into (the cat may even be illiterate for all I know). Any attempt to send us mice or other bribes through the mail will mean instant disqualification. The usual rules apply to comments – I will not approve comments which are spam, abusive, attack others etc. yada yada. Comments that don’t get approved don’t get entered in the draw. Basically… be nice.

And good luck!

6 Comments

Filed under About Germany, books, cats, children in germany, Life in Germany

6 responses to “Little Book of Heroes – prize giveaway

  1. Suze Nowak

    Not like I need a tear-jerking book about kids to make me cry. Since I became a mother I’ve been known to blubber over TV adverts! Still, I’m a glutton for punishment. Fingers crossed or should I say thumbs pressed?

  2. Neil

    sounds like just the job, can we have a photo of the Hitler cat performing the prize draw ….now that I must see !

  3. Definitely, the idea of the Hitler cat doing the prize draw requires a photo.

    I have never won anything, well, again I have never really tried.

    But I could use a tear jerker on my night stand (next to the humorous British writers, Cathy Dobson and James Herriot).

  4. Neil_Yes_A_Different_One

    Sounds worth a read, hope it’s not too sad though, but moving in an uplifting way?

  5. Alexandra

    As a (rather rusty, hidden) poet, I’d love a copy of this book. Reminds of a phrase i have taped to my wall, taken from a Boston poetry class about ten years ago (by a 6 year old): “Fear is like underpants that are too tight”……:)

  6. Pingback: And the winner is…. « Planet Germany

Leave a Reply

